No: SNEA/CHQ/Committee/2017-18/02 dated 03.04.2017.

To

Smt Arundhati Panda, PGM(PF-II), BSNL CO, Chairperson of the Committee.

Sub: Pay parity of Rs 22820/- for the post 2007 recruited Executives joined after 01.01.2007 reg:

arter officiation reg.

Ref: 1. Order No. 1-17/2016-PAT (BSNL) dated 10.01.2017.

2. No: SNEA/CHQ/Committee/2017-18/01 dated 30.01.2017.

Respected Madam,

Kindly refer the submissions made by the Association vide its letter dated 30.01.2017 regarding the pay parity of the Executives recruited after 01.01.2007 till today. As mentioned in letter, the basic pay of the Executives recruited after 01.01.2007 are entirely different, creating widespread resentment among the Executives recruited after 01.01.2007. There is huge difference in pay to the tune of Rs 10,000/- between the two sets of Executives. The reduction in pay for the Dept candidates promoted up to 2010 was addressed through an option given to them in the Non Executive wage revision. However the JTOs of 2007 and 2008 batches and the 2010 batch direct recruited JAOs were recruited and appointed in the pre-revised pay scale of 9850-250-14600 and were drawing Rs 9850/- as entry level pay. In fact the 2007, 2008 batch JTOs and 2010 DR JAOs joined prior to the 2010 batch JAOs (Dept candidates). There was no difference in basic pay between 2005 batch JTOs or 2010 batch JAOs(Dept) and 2007, 2008, 2010 batch JTO/JAOs as all were drawing Rs 9850/- as initial basic pay up to January 2012.

After implementation of 2nd PRC report, initial basic pay of JTOs of 2005 batch joined in BSNL after 01.01.2007 got fixed at Rs. 22820/-. The benefit of fitment and option under para 3.6 of Non Executives wage revision order has been extended to the employees of CSS cadre and JAOs of 2010 Batch (40% quota for Dept candidates). All of them joined after 01.01.2007 and got the initial pay fixed at Rs 22820/. After Pay Revision, the difference in basic pay of JTO/JAOs of post 2007 batches become **Rs 3800/-** comparing to the 2005 batch JTOs and 2010 batch Dept JAOs. On implementation of 3rd PRC, the difference will further increase and continue with time due to increase in IDA and annual increment. Further all are facing major losses in the form of career progression (time bound promotion), retirement benefits like E.P.F., Gratuity etc due to discrimination of the initial basic pay compared to other similarly placed JTO/JAOs.

It is established that BSNL was continued with Rs 9850/- and the pre-revised pay scale of Rs 9850-250-14600 till 2012 and extended Rs 22820/- for the JTOs of 2005 batch(joined after 01.01.2007), the CSS cadres and the JAO 2010 batch(Dept). Similar benefit is eligible for other JTO/JAOs joined up to 2010 also as long as BSNL continuing with Rs 9850/-. Since there is no cut-off date, the same benefit of Rs 22820/- has to be extend for all the Executives recruited even after 2010 also, till date.

Management can consider the pay fixation done for the post 2007 recruited Executives in other CPSUs, on promotion as well as direct recruitment. OIL (Oil India) is the only one

CPSU addressed such anomaly by upgradation of the pay scale from E2 to the next higher pay scale of E3 for all the Executives. Any pay revision should benefit the Executives of CPSUs and would help CPSUs to attract and retain talent.

It may be noted that 2nd PRC recommended higher pay scales for BSNL than the present pay scales. If those pay scales are approved and implemented, this anomaly would not have aroused. But Union Cabinet approved lower pay scales, creating this anomalous situation.

This issue may be dealt separately. To have parity in the initial pay of all the Executives joined after 01.01.2007 in the same grade and at the same stage, it is requested to recommend Rs 22820/- as the initial basic pay for all the Executives recruited after 01.01.2007 as already granted to one section of employees. The Committee recommendations may be expedited to give relief to all the affected Executives.

Thanking you,

(K. Sebastin)

Copy to:

- 1. Smt Sujata T Ray, DIR(HR), BSNL Board for information and n/a please.
- 2. Smt Madhu Aroa, PGM(Estt), Committee member for information and n/a please.